G20: Accelerating the transition to a global Circular Economy

1st December 2020
2.00 – 3.30 PM (London time), 3.00 – 4.30 PM (CET), 9.00 – 10.30 AM (New York time), 6.00 – 7:30 AM (San Francisco time)
Online webinar (Europe & North/South America)

Background

Circular Economy is in an ambitious synthesis of concerns about resources, waste and business models and is well placed to complement and integrate with the social, economic, educational and health objectives identified by international organisations, including the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations.  A global, multi-stakeholder consensus over concepts and terminologies would help progress the development of circular business models, products, technologies and services.

The current COVID-19 pandemic has already caused profound effects at the global scale. The webinar will highlight ‘State of the Art’ research and put forward recommendations to the G20 related to the transition to Circular Economy. Short-term actions as well as new thinking on long-term systemic changes will be presented which could lead to green economic recovery in the post-coronavirus world that is low carbon and circular. The presentation will be followed by a discussion with international experts.

Objective

This webinar focuses on ‘State of the Art’ of Circular Economy, international cooperation and policymaking and highlights major global actors, stakeholders and initiatives related to G20. Some issues will be explored at a macroeconomic level and some at the level of organisations and products.

Acknowledgement: This webinar builds on paper completed within a research project on “The Role of G20 in Promoting Global Governance: Challenges and Priorities within the G20 Italian Presidency in 2021”. The project is funded by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Compagnia di San Paolo of Turin and aims at exploring the role of G20 with a focus on four policy domains that are at the centre of the G20 agenda. 

Programme

Co-convenors: Professor Martin Charter, Director, The Centre for Sustainable Design ®, Business School for the Creative Industries, University for the Creative Arts, UK and Ichin Cheng, Director, Sustainable Innovation Lab, UK

11:00-11:45 Conclusions and Recommendations
Martin Charter & Ichin Cheng

11:45-12:30 Panel discussion

Registration

To book your place email Ros on rcarruthers@uca.ac.uk

Further information

For more information contact:
Ros Carruthers
The Centre for Sustainable Design ®
Business School for the Creative Industries 
UCA
+44 (0) 1252 892772